At The Pinnacle of Merry-Go-Round and Gravel by Kevin D. LeMaster

At The Pinnacle of Merry-Go-Round and Gravel

It spun faster than wind could carry, this pinwheel with handles, and I held on like white-knuckled drivers in rush hour traffic, I held on with the wind at my back and fast was suddenly a four letter word, was suddenly a moment of fear.

My knees hit loose limestone and dug past blue plaid and deep in both kneecaps like buried bones being excavated. I knew jeers were just part of a larger game, and there was no rescue,

so I held on until it finally stopped and took my bleeding inside, learning lessons they never taught me in school.

 

Charles Knowles merry go round

 

Kevin D. LeMaster is currently an avid student of poetry. His poetry has been inspired by many people including, but not limited to, Robert Frost, Billy Collins, Charles Bukowski and others. He has served as poetry editor for Silhouette magazine, and prose editor for Twizted Tungz. His works have appeared in many publications, both online and print, and has participated in Tupelo Press’ 30/30 project.  He currently resides in Northern Kentucky with his wife and children.

 

(Next story: Clockwork by Terri Jane Dow)

(Previous story: dear michigan by Jack C. Buck)

Feel like submitting? Check out our submission guidelines

[Picture derived from Photo by Charles Knowles]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

