Boris Is Alive and Working as a Piano Player at the Sun Moon Chinese Restaurant by Digby Beaumont

Boris Is Alive and Working as a Piano Player at the Sun Moon Chinese Restaurant

The morning after my girlfriend’s dog died, I brought him back to life. I found Patti sobbing in the shower. As I towelled her dry, her look broke my heart. I made her coffee. “So,” I said. “Do you suppose Boris could have faked his own death? He wasn’t getting any younger. What if he’d decided to make a break for it? Start a new life. Before it was too late. One last hurrah.” Patti looked as if she were trying to form a picture in her mind. “Wait. What was that?” I said. She cocked her head and listened.

 

snuggle by Caroline

 

Digby Beaumont’s stories have appeared widely in many fine publications, most recently Bartleby Snopes, The Journal of Compressed Creative Arts, Camroc Press Review, Cosmonauts Avenue, 100-Word Story, Boston Literary Review, 34th Parallel and Olentangy Review. His work has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net Anthology, and he is currently working on a flash fiction collection. He has worked as a nonfiction author for many years, with numerous publications, and lives in Hove, England.

 

(Next story: The Consultant by Stefanie Freele)

(Previous story: Dream Sequence #35 by Lisa de Nikolits

Feel like submitting? Check out our submission guidelines

[picture derived from Snuggle by Caroline]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

